top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenny Lau

Going Seoulo #1: Hongdae

First solo adventure in Seoul!


The Art of Being Alone - 8/21/2022


The past few days in Seoul were filled with fun adventures with new friends and reconnecting with an old friend I had not met in three years! Despite all the fun and eventful moments, I had used up all my social battery where I needed time to be alone and be comfortable exploring an unfamiliar city.


I believe alone time plays a crucial role in personal development because it cultivates your self-relationship, and you discover new things about yourself. My alone time allowed me to find peace in solitude and re-center myself from the chaos. I decided to go to Hongdae because they had the stores and cafes I wanted to go to in one place! I went shopping for jewelry, visitied Cafe Teteum and Gyeouri Meomuneun House.



Cafe Teteum - 카페테틈


This cute bear-themed cafe is the perfect place for Instagram-worthy pictures. They also sell cute stationaries like stickers, notepads, laptop cases, phone cases, etc. The first floor is where you make your order. You go up to the second floor to dine in.


I ordered the milk tea and this lemon cupcake. The drink and cupcake were super cute but too sweet for me. The majority of the desserts and pastries in Korea are super sweet :(. I couldn't stop fangirling about how adorable everything was! I felt like I was living my Pinterest cafe board dream. I would come here again for the vibes ✨ and cute stationaries.



Address: 03982 서울시 마포구 동교로36길 15 (연남동) 1-2F

Instagram: @cafe.teteum


Gyeouri Meomuneun House


This is the one and only Samoyed dog cafe in Seoul. I highly recommend coming here because the Samoyed dogs were a giant fluff ball of energy! Finding this place wasn't too bad because once you're in close proximity you can tell by the dog scent that you're at the right place.


Before entering, I had to go through two waiting rooms where the staff explained the rules and procedures in Korean and English. You place your belongings in a locker. The entrance fee was ₩11,000, and you can stay for however long. The staff will give you treats to give to the dogs. You say "anja 안자" instead of sit. I would have to say that the dogs were pretty stubborn because they sometime wouldn't listen to my command. The second floor is where all the mature and mellow Samoyed stayed.


I had an enjoyable time petting and giving treats to the doggies! It was entertaining to see them jumping on people and begging for treats. One tip for finding animal cafes is to read the reviews beforehand if it is ethical. Also, use your common sense whether the type of animal they have if it is appropriate for an animal to be in a cafe and socialize with humans.



Address: Seoul, Mapo-gu, Wausan-ro 17-gil, 19-5 겨울이 머무는 집


Live Street Dance


I stumbled upon a street dance performance on my way to the subway. Hongdae is well-known for live street performances where you can watch people dancing, singing, and entertaining tricks. The dancers were dancing to songs that the audience requested. They danced confidently, and their body movements were fluid.





Reflection


My overall experience of my first solo date in Seoul turned out great! There is so much to do in the city. It fosters the perfect playground for me to explore and enjoy my time in Seoul. It is a safe city where I feel comfortable walking around at night, but I never let my guard down. It is so safe that people usually leave all their belongings to save a spot at cafes, libraries, and restaurants. It was easy finding the place I wanted to go. I liked how I did things at my own pace. I don't need to worry about what the other person wants to do.


This solo adventure experience boosted my confidence in getting around the city alone. It encouraged me to do more solo dates during my time in Seoul. I'm not worried about getting lost because I can trust my handy dandy Naver map.


Until next time, yuh! ✨

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page