top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenny Lau

Korean Traditional Market (시장)



Going to a traditional market is a must-go during your study abroad. It is a lively and aromatic experience when you walk around the market. It will make you want to eat everything! It is the place to go if you want to eat traditional Korean food and don't want to break the bank. Be sure to bring cash when you go!


Gwangjang Market

Gwangjang Market is one of the oldest market in South Korea. I would have to say Gwangjang Market is my favorite market to go to. There will be a lot of ajummas (married or middle-aged women) calling for you to eat at their stand.


What to eat at Gwangjang Market


Bindaetteok (Mung Bean Pancakes)


Bindaetteok is a ground-up mung bean turned into a thick paste pan-fried in a pool of oil that gives its crispy crust and soft inside. It is a savory dish that is very filling.


Hotteok (Sweet Korean Pancake)

Hotteok is my most favorite street food in Korea! The best snack for the cold weather that gives a warm hug to your mouth. It is a sweet and yeasty treat oozing with ooey gooey brown sugar & nuts.


Japchae (Stir-fry Glass Noodles)


The japchae was sweet and savory with a bouncy texture. It was pretty addicting because of the sesame oil which gives it a bold taste.


Kalguksu (Knife-cut Noodles)

I went to Gohyang Kalguksu, featured on a Netflix series called Street Food. You can easily spot her iconic pink and purple uniform and kneading the noodles by hand. It has a soft and doughy texture. The broth was light, flavorful, and thick from the noodles. Be sure to go here if you're not on a time crunch because you might have to wait a bit for a seat. She is closed on Mondays.


Kkwabaegi (Twisted Korean Doughnut)

Kkwabaegi is made from sweet rice flour that gives its chewy texture. It is dusted with sugar and cinnamon. The line is ALWAYS long for this place, but the wait is not too bad if you're talking with friends. It was only 1000 WON (~$0.70)!


Mandoo (Dumplings)



The mandoo is either filled with gogi (meat) and kimchi. It is super soft to chew.


Mayak Kimbap ("Drug" Kimbap)


Mayak kimbap is basically mini kimbap. It is wrapped with rice, radish, carrots, and perilla leaves. The seaweed is coated with sesame oil that gives its glossy appearance. It goes well with their wasabi mixed soy sauce!


Tteokbokki (Spicy Rice Cake)


Despite how red the tteokbokki looks, it was not too spicy. You should trust me on this because I don't have a high spice tolerance. It has a nice thick and chewy texture. I recommend dipping the kimbap into the tteokbokki sauce.


Gejang (Raw Marinated Crab)


The most memorable food I've ever eaten in Korea. The flavor is out of this world. The raw crab meat has a slimy soft texture that goes well with the rice. You eat the crab by sucking on it that easily slips out. I was sucking the life out of this crab because it was so good! The owner was very nice! They even wiped my mouth and gave me Yakult after I finished my meal.


Yukhoe & San-nakji (Beef Taretar & Raw Octopus)



Bucheon Yukhoe is the place to go for yukhoe and san-nakji. It has a Michelin rating. The yukoe and san-nakji was super fresh! It was an interesting experience eating the san-nakji (octopus) because it was still squirming around the plate. It was a little intimidating to eat because I was afraid of the tentacles choking me. It felt a little funny when the tentacles were sucking on my tongue and cheek. Dipping it in the sesame oil was so good!

Namdaemun Market




The only thing I tried at Namdaemun Market was the kalguksu and hotteok. They have an alley dedicated to kalguksu where all the owners compete to get customers to eat at their stands. It was a little hard to find the alley because it was kind of hidden.

When I first entered the Kalguksu Alley, an ajumma instantly grabbed my hand. I was kind of flustered and confused. Just a fair warning that the ajummas there may be a little touchy. Every time somebody enters the alley, all the ajummas started to shout like a flock of birds.


I wish I was able to try more food like the steamed buns, pig feet, and japchae hotteok. The kalguksu was super good! The broth has a deep and strong flavor. It definitely hit the spot!




Tongin Market



The Tongin Market was built for Japanese residents when Japan occupied Korea. The uniqueness of this market is that they use traditional brass coins to purchase the side dishes you want for your plate. Just look for the sign for the vendors that accept the coins. It cost 5,000 won for ten coins. You can get a refund if you don't use it all.



I got fried chicken, stir-fry soondae, egg, stir-fry tteokbokki, kimchi jeon, and kimbap. I would recommend getting the tteokbokki and soondae!


Overall

Korean traditional markets will always have a place in my heart. The lively atmosphere, sitting tightly with strangers and friends, and how cheap and delicious the food make it a fun experience. I'll miss going here when I return to Hawai'i 🥲.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page