top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenny Lau

School Life at Korea University

Updated: Nov 27, 2022




Course Registration Chaos

The most stressful part during my first week of school was course registration. It was very frustrating playing the waiting game to wait for my turn to get the classes I needed on the final day of registration. Korea University always sets a specific time frame for courses to be enrolled. There was some miscommunication from the school on what specific time and day the exchange students can register for their classes. A lot of the students were very frustrated and anxious about course registration.


To tackle the high demand and difficulty of course registration, the Global Services Center created a Google form to assist the exchange students. Since it was first come first serve, I had to quickly copy and paste the information to get my classes. I was able to get all my classes with the help from the Global Services Center


My Course Schedule


Consumer Behavior - BUSS 342 (MKT 311)

Professor: Song-Oh Yoon

Time: MW 10:30 AM - 11:45 AM

Online

  • no midterm

  • one individual assignment

  • group project (observation or experiment on consumer behavior)

  • final exams


Urbanization and Industrialization in East Asia - GKSS 212 (BUS 367G)

Professor: James William Potter

Time: M 5:15 PM - 7:50 PM

Hybrid

  • weekly quizzes on readings (3 questions)

  • 1 midterm

  • final exam


Marketing & New Product Development - BUSS 407 (MKT 372)

Professor: Tony C. Garrett

Time: TR 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM

In-person

  • 1 midterm

  • group project (creating a concept & protocol product using the new product development process)

  • final exam


Organizational Behavior - BUSS 311 (MGT 341)

Professor: Chang, Jin Wook

Time: TR 3:30 PM - 4:45 PM

In-person

  • 3 exams

  • group project (interview a manager about their difficulties managing a team, analyze the problem, and provide a tailored solution)


Shidler vs. KUBS

The difference between Shidler & Korea University Business School courses is that the business classes don't have weekly homework assignments. Not having weekly homework is weird because it is not my usual routine. Since there are no weekly assignments, I sometimes forget that there's "study" in the study abroad because there's so much to do in the city. It is why I find myself procrastinating on group projects and studying for exams.


Work Hard, Play Hard

Korea is the epitome of work hard, play hard. It is rare to see a Korean student slacking off in their studies. They spend a significant amount of hours and energy studying hard for their classes and exams. I sometimes feel the pressure to study hard because everywhere I go on campus, I see students hyper-focus on their laptops being productive. At the same time, they know how to have fun and reward themselves for their hard work!



bottom of page